THIS CHILLAI-KALAN

Come this “Chillai-kalan”

I would embrace beloved “Kangri”

Time is gone

When dad would let his “Shalfah” .

Come this “Chillai-kalan”

Duck-back boots are ready

I would slide again

On the snow wedge in the backyard of house.

Come this “Chillai-kalan”

I will make my own snow- man

Adore myself the coal eyes

And kick that, when dad is in.

Come this “Chillai-kalan”

Will see the icicles hanging

Break them from the window sill

Clatter them under the teeth.

Come this “Chillai-kalan”

I will watch snow adoring

The premises of my house

Looking all twinkle.

Come this “Chillai-kalan”

I will watch snow falling

Kissing the earth beneath

Harmonious, clatter my feat.

Come this “Chillai–kalan”

I would cage my feet

Beneath the skelton of “Kangri”

Before the qult is pulled for sleep.

Come this “Chillai–kalan”

Would concoct milk, sugar and snow

Eat it in the attic of house

Between that snow thud.

Come this ”Chillai–kalan”

I will make snow- balls again

Have a tussle with my neighbour

Put him under the snow.

Come this “Chillai–kalan”

Listen to the fairy- tale of” Shaal kak” again

Blow to ignite the coals

And sit in the “hamaam” again.

Leave a Reply

